7 days with Windows 7

I’ve been meaning to give Windows 7 a try for a couple of weeks, and with my recent layoff I find myself with enough time to tinker.

When compared to Vista the interface seems alot cleaner, less cluttered. I like how it will maximize the screen differently if you drag a window to the top edge, or to the sides. Not once has the taskbar become cluttered, even when I had a bunch of apps running at the same time.

What’s really impressed me so far is Media Center. Those of you who know me, know that Media Center and me have had a long, and loving relationship. Microsoft took a good product and somehow made it better, faster, stronger (I just flashed on Kanye West saying that in my head). “Libraries” automatically index with any new media based upon its location on your machine or the network. The indexing runs silently in the background and doesn’t take 2 days to complete like in other versions.

Another thing that is suprising is how much quicker 7 run on my laptop when compared to Vista. Where Vista made doing anything a chore, on 7 it runs almost on par with Windows XP when it comes to performance. I know that this is only a Beta, and by the time Microsoft releases the full version it will go through many changes and iterations, but lets hope the perfomance stays stable. 

I’ll post more detailed impressions after the honeymoon period is over and let you know whats truely going on here.

Leave a Reply

