Is it Better to Give or Get a Great Gift

Hi all, time to dust off the old blog and try to breathe some new light into it.

With Christmas ( I beleive in Christmas, so therefore I call it so) fast approaching, I have come to realize a little nugget of inspiration, namely do I truely enjoy receiving a great gift, or do I prefer giving one instead.

Recently Adrienne and I have been “discussing” what gifts we want to give our friends and family. And its only now, now that I’ve bought a totally awesome gift for her that I am seeing the flip side of gift receiving.

Wait for it
..
..
..
..
.. almost there
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
..
.. isn’t this anticipation killing you
..
..
..
..
..
.. there, can you see what I just did? Do you understand what I enjoy

It’s that anticipation, that build up, that excitement, and then the flush joy coming over someones face.

In my 29 years of life here, I think I’ve always gotten pleasure from other peoples happiness. But its only not that I have a truely awesome gift to give my wife that I can finally say that I get it. Its better to give then receive. Because of this one realization I now understand why I have a problem not giving a gift away to those that I love.

The anticipation of seeing that other person open my gift drives me absolutely bonkers, I get anxious about anticipating the moment that someone opens my very special, one of a kind, no one else has thought of it gift.

My question to everyone reading this, and I welcome any comments is this; What do you think, do you enjoy receiving awesome gifts more then giving them, or are you like me, and the opposite is true.

Leave a Reply

